3. Dissipation of forces.


Dispersing forces and loads is a hallmark to spinal care, and obviously can be to other joints of the body. You have probably heard an older person say, “woah, I need to sit to take a load off my feet!”. Well, its true! It isn’t quite this simple in regards to rehabilitation of painful conditions, but always an honest watchdog. I always wondered when I was in the second tier Physics class in college why I needed this information to become a PT (because it was hard and I was being lazy!), but forces can be a vital part of physics. I use it everyday, just more practical. A way I address forces for the spine is quite simple, separating the vertebral column in loaded and unloaded positions. Looking at what daily pressures and stress/strains are encountered during the patient’s daily life through subjective examination will lead to your treatment. Someone who sits all day as an accountant will surely respond differently than a factory worker. I also address the motor performance aspect in physical therapy through dissipation of forces, mainly in the effect of strengthening in 2 or 3 different positions. For example, a patient may respond best to the performance of scapula retraction in sitting, prone, or side-lying. This type of approach can also go back to dissociation of movement in #2 in prior post.

Leave a Reply

