aVOR:

My wife just recently returned from a week long vestibular competency course in Atlanta, GA (crazy how it seems to be hundreds of certifications in ortho but only have competency courses in vestibular…) but anyway, she showed me a cool app for educating patients about the inner ear and conditions involving this and dizziness (involving the vestibulo-ocular reflex, BPPV, etc.) I honestly only know the tip of the iceberg when it comes to this field so I will not pretend to decipher this application. It is worth sharing though with your colleagues/patients. Here are some screen shots:

STarTBack

I came across this application(Low Back Risk Stratification App) through twitter (thanks to @sturdy) to help educate your primary care providers or other referral sources to assist in proper treatment. It can also be provided to your patients too (for future use, or share with friends/family) so it can help them in determining what the best treatment will be. Amazing that only 7% of patients get referred to P.T. Hopefully this will help! Here is a link to a slideshow of how this application can be applied. I love how it recommends referral to physiotherapy šŸ™‚

20130318-081257.jpg

20130318-081343.jpg

20130318-081357.jpg

2 comments

  1. Harrison, funny that you should mention this. There actually was a STarT Back Tool app that came out last summer, and very similar in nature. I think it came from the UK (where this tool was actually derived). I did a review for it on the Medical App Journal: http://bit.ly/X0gzuV

    I did see the one you mention come up. I’ll have to look at it in more detail.

    1. Hey Dan,
      Thanks for providing this link. I hope readers will refer back to your review…sorry I didn’t check out the Medical App Review prior to posting this; it was a quick link out. I think some PTs may have provided it to PCPs to assist in their clinical decision making for LBP…but that may be too much on the edge infringing on their diagnostic skills…

      Hv

Leave a comment